Rules for Formulating Titles for Photographs by S. M. Prokudin-Gorsky

These rules establish a uniform order for the formulation of titles of images in the database of the “Legacy of S. M. Prokudin-Gorsky” International Research Project. They also provide for more precise definition of titles, and for construction of new titles for photographs as they are identified.

  • In formulating the photographer’s identifications in the albums of contact prints, in the “Title of the photograph” section of the database, all abbreviations (except commonly-accepted ones) are eliminated, but the original form is retained in the section “Identification in the control album.” In such cases, both sections contain the identification in modern Russian orthography.
  • The location of the shot indicated by the photographer, either under the image itself or at the top of the album page, is part of his title and is included in the basic image title without square brackets. However, only information below individual prints is included in the basic title in the section “Identification in the control album,” since the location indicated at the top of the album page sometimes may not be applicable to all the shots on that page.
  • If the photographer’s original title for an image is found, the “Title of the photograph” section contains the title in single quotation marks: ‘Putivl’. In such cases, the source of the photographer’s original title should be given.
  • If a particular image does not have a title provided by the photographer, or if his identification is completely erroneous, then participants in the “Legacy of S. M. Prokudin-Gorsky” project may provide titles.
  • In cases of significant inaccuracies in the photographer’s titles, or when they are not sufficiently informative, the photographer’s title may be supplemented or corrected by participants of the project. In extraordinary cases, an erroneous title may be given in its entirety in a new version.
  • In supplementing and/or correcting the photographer’s titles, one should be guided by the principle of minimal intrusion. If the inaccuracy is of a minor nature, it is preferable to limit notes about the photo. In all cases, one should aim to the greatest extent to preserve the correct parts of the photographer’s identifications, and in cases where a new form is provided, to consider and preserve the general meaning and idea of the photographer’s title.
  • In dealing with what is not an obvious error, a clarification in square brackets should be placed not with the inaccurate element, but after it. For example, Entrance to the mosque [mausoleum] of Gur-Emir.
  • Titles of photos provided by participants in the project, as well as additions to the photographer’s original titles, should be put in square brackets. More complicated details about additions or corrections to the photographer’s titles should be included in the notes.
  • In exceptional circumstances one may provide for a given photograph two equally correct titles assigned by the photographer. These should be separated one from the other by a slash (/). In the notes it is essential to provide the sources for both titles.
  • In all cases of finding one of the photographer’s correct, or more accurate, titles, its use is more preferable to a constructed title, even if the photographer’s title requires corrections and/or additions.
  • When project participants formulate titles for images, these titles in laconic form should reflect (designate) the object and its location (or direction). When dealing with a little-known small settlement, one should indicate the nearest well-known point. For example, “The Village of Daba near Borzhom.” The name of the province (region, district) is not given. The name of the uezd (county) can be provided if necessary to pintpoint the location (e.g., for differentiating several towns with the same name). For lesser-known foreign settlements, one may include in the title an indication of the country. For lesser-known settlements, the type of settlement should be included (city; village; hamlet). For foreign settlements, the type may be provided if known.
  • In formulating titles, one ought to be guided by the realities of the era the photograph was taken, regarding the names of places, administrative units, and the status and setting of the objects photographed. New titles are provided in the form of notes.
  • If foreign names of lesser-known settlements are encountered in formulating titles, it is advisable to include in brackets their orthography in the original language, or in transcription in Latin letters.
  • .

 


Main divisions

Правила формирования названий для снимков С. М. Прокудина-Горского

Настоящие правила устанавливают единообразный порядок воспроизведения авторских названий снимков в базе данных проекта «Наследие С. М. Прокудина-Горского», уточнения авторских названий, а также формирования новых названий для снимков в процессе их идентификации:

  • При воспроизведении авторских подписей из контрольных альбомов в карточках базы данных в графе "Название снимка" сокращения убираются (кроме общепринятых), а оригинальный вариант сохранятся в графе "Подпись в контрольном альбоме". При этом в обеих графах название воспроизводится по правилам современной русской орфографии.
  • Места съемки, обозначенные автором в подстрочнике или в заглавии страницы, являются частью авторского названия и присоединяются к основной подписи без квадратных скобок. Однако в графе "подпись в контрольном альбоме" к основной подписи добавляется только информация из подстрочника, т.к. указанное в заглавии страницы место съемки иногда относится не ко всем снимкам на данной странице.
  • Если для снимка найдено оригинальное авторское название, в графе "Название снимка" оно даётся с одиночными "английскими" кавычками: ‘Путивль’. При этом в карточке должен быть указан источник выявленного оригинального авторского названия.
  • В рамках проекта «Наследие С. М. Прокудина-Горского» названия снимков формируются участниками проекта, если снимок не имеет авторского названия (в т.ч. установленного) или авторское название является полностью ошибочным.
  • В случае существенной неточности в авторском названии или его явно недостаточной информативности (неконкретности) авторское название может быть дополнено или исправлено участниками проекта. В исключительных случаях неточное название может быть целиком дано в новой редакции.
  • При дополнении и (или) исправлении авторских названий следует руководство принципом минимального вмешательства. Если неточность имеет несущественный характер, предпочтительнее ограничиться примечанием к снимку. Во всех случаях следует стараться в максимальной степени сохранить правильные части авторского названия, а в случае формирования новой редакции следует учитывать (сохранять) общий смысл и замысел авторского названия.
  • Если речь не идёт о явной ошибке, то уточнение в квадратных скобках следует включать в название не вместо неточного элемента, а после него. Например: Вход в мечеть [мавзолей] Гур-Эмир.
  • Сформированное участниками название снимка, а также дополнения к авторскому названию должны быть взяты в квадратные скобки. Детали более сложного вмешательства в авторское название описываются в примечаниях.
  • В исключительных случаях можно давать снимку сразу два правильных авторских названия из разных источников, которые разделяются между собой знаком «слэш». В примечании необходимо указывать источники обоих названий.
  • Во всех случаях обнаружения правильного (более правильного) авторского названия его использование предпочтительнее сформированному названию, даже если такое авторское название потребует внесения исправлений и(или) дополнений.
  • При формировании названия участниками такое название в возможно лаконичной форме должно отражать (обозначать) объект съемки и место (направление) съемки. Если речь идет о малоизвестном населенном пункте, то следует указывать на ближайший известный пункт. Например: «Село Даба близ Боржома». Название губернии (области, округа) не указывается. Название уезда может указываться в случае необходимости для уточнений места (например, для различения одноименных пунктов). Для малоизвестных иностранных населенных пунктов в название может включаться указание на страну. Для малоизвестных населенных пунктов в названии следует указывать вид поселения (г. – город, с. – село, д. – деревня, п. – поселок и т.д.). Для иностранных населенных пунктов тип поселения указывается по возможности.
  • При формировании названий следует руководствоваться реалиями на момент съемки, в том, что касается названий мест, административного деления, статуса и назначения объектов съемок. Новые названия даются в качестве примечания.
  • Если в формируемом названии встречаются иностранные названия малоизвестных пунктов, то следует в скобках указывать их написание на языке оригинала, или в латинской транскрипции.
  • .

 


Основные разделы